Milton Keynes’ mother rents out her husband by the hour

Mom-of-three Laura Young got the idea from a podcast detailing how a man makes a living putting together flat-pack furniture for other people.

She immediately thought of her 41-year-old husband, James, who is talented and thorough at any home improvement job he can turn to.

He has transformed her Bletchley home, building bespoke beds including a 9ft wide family bed for when her children wouldn’t sleep at night, fitting a kitchen and making a dining table from scratch, as well as general painting, decorating, tiling and and carpet laying work.

James and Laura Young

“He’s good at everything around the house and garden. So I thought why not use those skills and hire him?” said Laura.

“People are really interested… There were some who got the wrong idea and thought I was hiring James for something completely different! Even with the cost of living crisis, I have no intention of doing that!

“But most people think it’s great. They say it’s sometimes difficult to get builders to offer small jobs because they’re not interested. James is perfect for things like assembling flat packs, setting up trampolines, building shelves and installing things.

The couple and their children on their 9ft family size bed

“Sometimes it’s quicker and easier to find someone for a job that we’ve been waiting for from our husbands for what feels like a lifetime… Life gets in the way and those jobs get pushed aside and that’s where mine is.” Idea came in.”

James’ own maxim is: “You create and I build”. He can build children’s bunk beds from a sketch, as well as custom-made furniture ideal for a family.

A former night shift worker in a warehouse, he had to quit his job two years ago to help Laura with her three children, two of whom are autistic.

“He’s been self-diagnosed as on the spectrum, but that makes him very thorough and excellent at any home improvement job he does,” Laura said.

James made the family dining table from scratch

James plans to return to college to study automotive mechanics and will work in his husband’s between colleges to help supplement the family income.

Laura said: “He’s always had a keen interest in building and designing. I’ve put him to good use over the years building our own family home and also helping friends and family.”

His current home project is building his own outdoor kitchen for summer days.

Rental costs average £35 an hour and no job is too small, Laura said. It can be as little as mounting a TV on the wall, installing a blind, or painting a fence.

“We want to keep fees to a minimum and be honest with people. We know what it’s like to be on a budget, so we offer discounts to disabled people, carers, those on Universal Credit and the over 65s.”

Anyone interested in hiring James can call 07368869373.

Leave a Comment